Chemo Coasters, Inspired by Nature

I’ve completed the 4th in a series of what I have dubbed the “Chemo Coasters” for my neighbor.

For every chemo session she completes, I am gifting her a different coaster. The first session out of the way, I gave her the first two I had completed. One I called the Bonus Round.  She immediately placed them on some glass shelves in her newly redecorated bathroom.

1st in the series Chemo Coaster of the Month for Sharon

Spring Buds by Shobha Govindan

Coneflowers and Blackeyed Susans, my inspiration~

Chemo Coasters#2-4 of the series

Tea Time by Shobha Govindan

Dainty Pineapples by Shobha Govindan

I worked up the 4th coaster for her second session today. She’ll undergo 2 treatments a month, and I plan to do one for each treatment completed.

Scalloped Vs by Shobha Govindan

Next month’s Chemo Coaster theme: Halloween. With that in mind, I’ve already started a doily for October.

Ravens For Halloween Doily

I recently ran across a doily made by a Yahoo member and immediately fell in love with it I researched and found an issue with the pattern, “Doves in Flight”.
Ravens For Halloween Doily | Flickr – Photo Sharing!

This one was made by catrazzy8 in a Halloween theme, perfect!
Ravens For Halloween Doily

I started on mine, and have got this far today. I’m going full-blown Halloween colors, per DH’s instructions 🙂

I also started on a pair of Wisconsin Winter Socks by Carol Anderson and Kristi Williams , as an added bonus for my friend who is undergoing chemo. I’m using Lion Brand Wool-Ease Multi and Print, colorway Autumn Print.

It is my hope that these socks will keep Ms. S’s. Crossing Guard feeties warm during our cold Wisconsin Winters, and to lessen the effects of the chemo.

Otherwise, DH and I are plugging along,  work is keeping us busy. Shawl pins are the current hot items, along with hat stick pins and hair sticks. Dh is working sometimes 5-6 hour stretches, to fill orders for the shawl sticks he makes by hand. We can already feel the holiday orders (*GASP!) beginning to pick up.

Tomorrow, the Walworth County Fair will be open, then school resumes for our kids, the following Tuesday.

Summer is coming to an end, let the Fall Festivities begin! 🙂

Leave a Reply

