All Powdered and Perfumed~

Life is a roller coaster, fasten your seat belts, it’s going to be a bumpy ride.

We still cannot believe what great shape this car is in. Art even gave her a new set of rug mats for her car, what a guy!! 🙂

New pics of Nats Corsica, in waning light- a better picture than my cellphone captured yesterday.

1993 Chevy Corsica
1993 Chevy Corsica

As we were driving into town this morning to make a withdrawal so we could give Art his money and sign the papers, Nats asked me a funny question, and I wasn’t sure how to respond. She asked me at what age I thought I imagined her owning her first car. I really don’t think I ever gave it a thought until recently. It just didn’t seem important to dwell on. In fact, I’m pretty sure I was in denial until it became very clear, I had to let her go, be her own person, fly free. And I wasn’t prepared for how I would feel when that day came.

Today, Nats got to drive to work solo for the first time. She was floating just inches off the ground while waiting for the time to leave. As I watched her  pull out of the driveway, I was left with an empty feeling in the pit of my stomach. The womb is an empty shell now, my life-giving requirements have been met, and it’s time to settle back and enjoy the ride off  into the proverbial sunset. The rest of the day I found myself  between moments of joyous celebration of my Last-born’s “coming out”,  and wanting to cry.

Yeah, I’m happy for her, she’s going to be fine. But am I….

Yesterday is a memory, tomorrow is a dream, and tonight…well, it’s not done until the lights go out~ 😉

Me~

Leave a Reply

