Sunrise Socks, one done~

I finished Sunrise Sock #1, am happy with the way it turned out-even the Kitchener stitch went off without a hitch!

Sunrise Sock, one done

Sunrise Sock, one done

I started the second sock using the Estonia cast-on:

Sock #2 Estonia Cast-on

Sock #2 Estonia Cast-on

I’m not crazy about the knit 1 row, purl 1 row, knit for pattern that the Estonians like to do as a rule for starting sock cuffs, but I really like the cast-on method-it’s a bit more decorative. I also found it a tremendous help doing the 2-needles together for a cast-on, helps create a looser foundation to knit the first row on.

I’m ready to start a new ball of yarn with this second sock, so I’m going to do a joining as seen in the Knitpicks video.

WHOOHOO! My Knitpicks order arrived!!! I love the Stroll Tweed sock yarn,  Aegean, Lumberjack, and Inca Gold.  Fruit Punch Multi is a fun color too!

I also really like the 3 colors of  Cadena: Blackberry, Tree Frog, and Black, for  Ribby Slippers by Cathy Carron. N. wants her slippers to be Black with Blackberry cuffs, and I’m making mine in Tree Frog with Black cuffs. I ordered Clover bamboo dpn’s for the slipper socks-the needles feel so smooth, can’t wait to try them out- I’m also going to try a 2-needle toe-up with one of my next sock projects, just for fun~ I am going to try the Elizabeth Zimmerman Sewn Bind-off for the heel.

Knitpicks prices are GREAT  and who ships for $3.99, and then free after $50? Knitpicks does!! I’m definitely going back for more soon.

I’m off to work on my Sunrise sock for a bit~have a good evening!

(Sock it to) Me~

Leave a Reply

