KDTV Eunny Jang Knits

I have been fascinated by the knitting techniques of  Interweave KDTV’s Eunny Jang, and wanted to learn more-she made it look so effortless!

I watched several videos and was mesmerized as I watched her fingers fly. Then something clicked like a light switch turned on.  She is incredibly fast, but oddly, that didn’t bother me like some of the videos I had seen. So, I picked up a pair of knitting needles, a ball of scrap yarn, and sat down to try and attempt her technique.

The first hurdle I had to overcome was the most obvious: I’m a Lefty. But as I picked up my yarn, and mimicked her method of wrapping and knitting, the most incredible thing happened. It felt RIGHT! For the first time since I have picked my knitting back up after 30+ years, the stitches fell into place without a hitch.

I kept going, until I had a length of knitting, and was surprised to find that I had not dropped a single stitch, not once. The whole technique flowed together and the stitches were easily executed, like never before. Now when I read about the benefits of knitting on the tips, this is exactly what that refers to. Also, I find that I am only knitting from the wrists, not using my whole arm to “throw the yarn”, and causing less fatigue, much easier.

I highly recommend that anyone starting out watch her videos on InterweaveVideos. The following video is a demo of Jogless stripes and can be viewed by clicking this YouTube linke: http://www.youtube.com/user/InterweaveVideos#play/uploads/8/GshD9_qlUfE

It may not be the right technique for everyone; we all have our own individual style. But for me, this works!

I’m heading upstairs to work on my second pair of socks, and already I can see how much faster this pair will go! Pics and updates to follow 🙂

Me~

Leave a Reply

