My First Knit Socks, Part I

It finally grabbed me, and I couldn’t ignore it any longer-I started on a pair of socks on Monday.

had finally finished my latest project on Sunday and on Monday, I started to knit socks.

I thought it would be hard  working with double-point needles, and the ensuing mess I’d created, but by the time I got to row 10,  I thought I was doing pretty good, had it in the bag……until I found a dropped stitch~ GAHHHHHHHhh!

I painstakingly worked my way back to the offending loose stitch, and also managed to work in an errant purl that turned up missing in the works.

I had trouble moving from one needle to the next, which is plainly visible in the rib stitch rows. After I got past those rows, the sock became easier to handle, the needles seemed to work with me like a puppet on a string-and it felt GOOD!

So here’s what the resulting first attempt looks like. I’m ripping it out once I’ve posted it- I want to start over and now that it feels right, I know how to fix my tension to and fro on the needles.

(don’t laugh), here is my first sock cuff:

is this how its suppose to look????

first rows of K1, P1 and so forth...

click image for free pattern!

click image for free pattern!

hoping to have it ripped and redone by this time tomorrow 🙂

PS: Check out Bernat’s Free Patterns, one can never have enough free patterns!

Ciao,
Moi~

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. udontno
    May 12, 2009 @ 19:11:23

    I really, really like your socks. I have yet to start my first pair of them. I hope mine look as good as your first attempt–it don’t look half bad!

    Reply

  2. Sandra
    May 13, 2009 @ 15:28:39

    thank you! I have been wanting to try them for a while and finally got up the nerve~ not as hard as I had imagined 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: My First Knit Socks, Part Deux « Sandra’s World

Leave a Reply

